4 States With Owner-Friendly Gun Laws
As a gun owner, I want to make sure that I live in a state that supports my constitutional rights. If you feel the same way about your weapons and your responsibility to protect your home and family, here's what you need to know about the states that have the most owner-friendly gun laws.
This southwestern state has a sizable firearm industry and famously permissive gun statutes. Arizona allows all adults ages 21 and older to openly carry a firearm in public without a permit. The state does require an open carry permit for those ages 18 to 21.
For a concealed carry permit, you must be a U.S. citizen with no felony or mental health history. You must also complete a state-approved firearms safety course. Arizona allows concealed carry almost everywhere except:
- Businesses that have a "No Weapons" sign
- Bars and restaurants that serve alcohol
- Areas where federal law prohibits weapons
Unlike in many states, you can also carry your gun in Arizona parks, forests and wildlife management areas.
Arizona does not require a background check for private sales of firearms. You do not have to inform a law enforcement officer that you have a gun during a traffic stop, but you do need to answer the question truthfully if he or she asks you.
The Lone Star State also has laws that protect gun owner rights. Texas prohibits denial of a concealed carry permit to anyone who meets all the legal requirements. The state also recognizes concealed carry permits from 47 other states.
Texas also has a stand your ground law, which allows individuals to use deadly weapons or force when threatened with violence. The state recognizes the castle doctrine, which allows the use of force to protect one's home.
If you rent your home, your landlord cannot prevent you or your guests from having weapons in certain areas of the residence. School districts may not have restrictions about how guns and ammunition can be stored in a vehicle in the school parking lot.
Gun aficionados appreciate living in Idaho because of the friendly weapon laws. The state allows anyone to purchase a firearm without a license or registration of the weapon. Although Idaho issues carry permits, you do not need a permit to engage in either concealed or open carry as long as you are at least 18 years old. You can even carry your gun in restaurants in the state.
Individuals who cannot qualify to own a firearm in other states because of a previous mental health diagnosis can apply to own a gun in Idaho through the state's rights restoration process. Property owners cannot file noise complaints against nearby gun ranges if the range already existed when they bought the property.
Not only do more gun owners live in Alaska than in any other state, but this rural paradise was also the first U.S. state to pass a law permitting carry without a permit. This regulation allows concealed carry for all Alaska residents who are at least 21 regardless of whether they have a permit. However, you must live in the state for at least 90 days before taking advantage of this law.
You must wait three years to carry a weapon after completing substance abuse treatment and six years after conviction for two or more misdemeanor offenses. The law includes provisions for legal concealed carry in weapons, state parks and private vehicles. However, the law will enforce "No Weapons" signs posted by businesses.
If you're in the process of building your survival armament but you live in a state with strict gun laws, you may want to think about a move to one of these states with a strong Second Amendment culture.